Forums

39, separated and trying to follow my heart

Page:   1 2

Kat

Joined in 2014
October 16, 2014, 18:54

Hello

This is the second time I have logged on and started to tell my story. I hope I get further this time. I am not very good at talking about myself, but at the same time I really want to tell my story because I think it will help me work things out in my head and I really long to have more people to talk to who understand.

This seems to be such a lonely road!

I have felt for a long time that I think I would be more comfortable being with a woman but I have been in a complicated marriage for nearly 10 years. My husband suffers from some addictions which have caused many problems and heartbreak over the years. I finally found the courage to end the marriage as it was far too painful to continue and not a good environment for my two beautiful children to be raised in any longer. After quite some months he finally moved out and I was finally free and while it was daunting being on my own with my children I felt at last I could be me and focus on my own needs as well as those of my children,

During this time I met a girl through a single mums group and right away we connected and it soon developed to more than friendship. It was a lovely change to what I was used to but I realised that it was not the right relationship/person for me or my children,

I ended the relationship and then in a strange turn of events I decided to give my marriage a second go. My husband had sought help and had made a lot of changes and I thought perhaps we could have the family life I always wanted. Things seemed great for a couple of months but I soon realised my heart was not in the right place and we really do not bring the best out in each other. There is still a lot of hurt and pain from past experiences that is hard to let go of,