Forums

Male / 40's / Professional / Married with Kids / Thinking of Coming Out / Really Scared

Page:   1 2

JeffreyJohn

Joined in 2015
January 19, 2015, 09:10

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to this and very scared, but I thought it might be a good place to seek support. My story, in a nutshell l:

• Grew up in a military home and was a huge disappointment to dad (reconciled now)

• Sexually abused multiple times by multiple perpetrators growing up (not dad) and I thought that was why I had unwanted feelings of attraction to boys

• Met a Christian girl when I was 15 and became a Christian because I liked her

• Found out that being gay was a sin and God would heal me so we married (she didn’t know about my struggle but I was SURE that God would heal me)

• We had 5 kids and I spent the next 23 years fighting the demons (reparative therapy, booze, pills, working longs hours, studying, building a career, etc)

• Two years ago finally sought help about the sexual abuse and the topic of sexuality came up and here I am; a mess.

Where to from here? My wife now knows, but no-one else. I have tried to back track and suggest I’m actually Bi with more of a homosexual bent because I got scared, but I’m not, I’m gay and it’s as simple as that. I’ve started talking to a counsellor about this and he suggested this site. I’ve read lots of posts and I’m basically very, very scared.

My wife wants to make a go of it if we can, but she also wonders what it would be like to be loved truly by a man and she wonders if I also deserve to know real love and real intimacy. Neither of us have known that. I secretly ache for it and wonder what it would be like. I’ve never been intimate with a man or even fooled around as a teenager.